2018 Bank Holidays in Union Territory of New Delhi

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2018 Bank Holidays in Union Territory of New Delhi

Delhi is auspicious to celebrate many festival holidays throughout the year 2018. Some of these holidays chased by regular holidays like saturdays and sundays thus combined together 3 days to have a holiday trip on vacation.

The Indian Republic Day is one such gazetted holiday in India honoring the formation of the Indian constitution. On this day, the govt. offices across the states of india remain closed. There may be partly closed business hours of private companies and stores. This calendar year 2018 has Republic Day falling on Friday.

New Delhi observes the festival of Maha Shivaratri in a grand gala manner. One of the biggest Hindu festival auspiciously observed on 14th February 2018 dated on Wednesday. This popular delhi festival finds delhiites celebrating with joy and spirit. This day is considered as wedding day of Shiva and Goddess Parvati. Maha Shivaratri spelled as Shivaratri denoting the marriage day of Shiva & Shakti. As per the hindu calendar, the festival falls on the Krishna Paksha Chaturdashi month.

Holi is celebrated on 2nd March 2018 falling on Friday. Generally, this festival of color falls in between the March & February month. The celebration here at Delhi last for two day as it is also sometimes called as spring festival. The first day of holid is known as Chhoti followed by Rangawali Holi on the second day. This festival brings love & affection amongst people.

Lord Mahavir Jayanti marks the birthday of Mahavir falling between the months of March & April. For the delhi city of calendar year 2018, the festival is commemorated on 29th March falling on Friday. On the day of Mahaveer Jayanthi people fast and pray for their welfare of dear and near loved ones.

Bank Holidays in Delhi fixed by banks across the union territory of new dehi has fixed on 1st April 2018. This is the day of bank account closing for all kinds of banking institutions. Every banks in delhi, starts the financial year on 01 April annually and ceases on 31st March. Updated list of bank holidays in New Delhi for the whole year 2018 is as follows:

26-Jan-18FridayRepublic Day
14-Feb-18WednesdayMaha Shivaratri
29-Mar-18ThursdayMahavir Jayanti
30-Mar-18FridayGood Friday
01-Apr-18SundayBank Holiday
30-Apr-18MondayBuddha Purnima
16-Jun-18SaturdayIdul Fitr
15-Aug-18WednesdayIndependence Day
22-Aug-18WednesdayIndul Juha
02-Oct-18TuesdayMahatma Gandhi Jayanthi
24-Oct-18WednesdayBirthday of Maharshi Valimiki
23-Nov-18FridayGuru Nanak Birthday
25-Nov-18TuesdayChristmas Day

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *