Government Holidays List of Tripura State in 2017

tripura-state-office-holidaysOne cannot reach the tripura state from every nook and corner of the neighbouring states of india. Because there is just a major highway that connects the rest of India with Tripura. this is because the state of tripura covered with 5 dense mountain ranges that landrock north to south. Tripura is geographically remote and it is rural with less infrastructure. Tripura basically a bengali hindu people populated state celebrate hindu festivals.

As like other state Public holidays determination by the General Administration Department of the state, the Tripura Government too implies the same. The Section 25 of the Negotiable Instrument Act of 1881 acts to approve the government holidays of tripura where all schools, offices and businesses are closed. One can find the entire tripura state gets closed on Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Ghandi’s birthday as they are considered as public holidays in Tripura.

The culture and religion of tripura is so rich and important there are list of holidays in special for them. Garia Puja that is observed on the 7th day of the month of Vaishakha honors Lord Garia to bring home the livestock, peace, children & wealth. Mahalaya festival is celerbated for 7 days before the festival of Durga Puja, observing the start of Durgha, goddess of eternal power. Similarly the Lakshimi Puja is a Hindu religion oriented festival giving reverence to the goddess Lakshmi whereas Kali Puja is for the goddess Kali celebrated on the new moon of the Hindu month Kartik.

23 JanMonNetaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanati
26 JanThuRepublic Day
(National Day)
21 FebTueMaharshi Dayanand Sarswati Jayanti
24 FebFriMaha Shivaratri
13 MarMonHoli
13 AprThuBiju Festival
14 AprFriGood Friday
14 AprFriBengali New Year’s Day
20 AprThuGaria Puja
10 MayWedBuddha Purnima
25 MayThuBirthday of Kazi Nazrul Islam
26 JunMonRamazan / Idu’l Fitr
(End of Ramadan) *
1 JulSatKharchi Puja
16 JulSunKer Puja
15 AugTueIndependence Day
15 AugTueJanmashtami / Sri Krishna Jayanti
2 SepSatBakri Id / Idu’l Zuha
(Feast of Sacrifice)
20 SepWedMahalaya Amavasye
29 SepFriDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Navami)
30 SepSatDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Vijaya Dashami)
1 OctSunMuharram
2 OctMonMahatma Gandhi’s
5 OctThuLakshmi Puja
18 OctWedNaraka Chaturdashi / Kali Puja
2 DecSatMilad-un-Nabi
(Prophet’s Birthday)
3 DecSunWorld Disabled Day


  • tripura govt calendar 2017
  • tripura govt holiday list 2017
  • tripura school education 2017 holiday list
  • tripuraking com2017
  • tripura king com
  • tripura king 2017
  • Tripura king com 2017
  • tripuragovtcalender
  • holiday list 2017 for govt schools of triputa
  • govt of tripura calender for 2017