Gujarat State Holidays 2017 for Banks & Government Offices

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

gujarat-state-holidays-2017The gujarat state is popularly nicknamed as “Jewel of Western India,” and it is covered by the province of Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh and the coastal Arabian Sea. The world’s first sea port name Lothal is geopositioned in Gujarat. The birth place of Mahatma Ghandi & Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel who preached unity among all religions. The public holidays of Gujarat are of mostly Hindu religion based due to its 89 % of Gujaratis following this religion.

The authorities of Personnel Division of the General Administration Dept. of the Government of Gujarat determines the gujarat public holidays for the new year 2017. The approved list of general holidays in Gujarat when govt. offices are closed comprise Sardar Vallabhbbhai Patel’s birthday, Shree Ram Navmi & Guru Nanak’s birthday. There are couple of choice holidays wherein the Government servants may select for their paid holidays. The Optional holidays are the festival celebrations of Yom Kippur, Boxing Day & Thiru Onam. While On Bank Holidays 2017 in gujarat, all banks remain shut and workers are given the day off with remuneration and are Republic Day, Raksha Bandhan & Bhai Bij.

Both Christmas & Good Friday are declared as public holiday in Gujarat. And for Muslim if the holiday doesnot sit on the day approved by the government, then the public workes may be granted an optional holiday.

Date Day Holiday
14 Jan Sat Makara Sankranti
26 Jan Thu Republic Day
(National Day)
24 Feb Fri Maha Shivaratri
13 Mar Mon Holi
28 Mar Tue Gudi Padva / Ugadi /
Chetti Chand
4 Apr Tue Ram Navami
9 Apr Sun Mahavir Jayanti
14 Apr Fri Good Friday
14 Apr Fri Dr Ambedkar Jayanti
28 Apr Fri Maharshi Parasuram
26 Jun Mon Ramazan / Idu’l Fitr
(End of Ramadan) *
7 Aug Mon Raksha Bandhan
15 Aug Tue Independence Day
15 Aug Tue Janmashtami / Sri Krishna Jayanti
17 Aug Thu Parsi New Year
25 Aug Fri Ganesh Chaturthi /
Vinayaka Chaturthi
2 Sep Sat Bakri Id / Idu’l Zuha
(Feast of Sacrifice)
30 Sep Sat Durga Puja / Dussehra
(Vijaya Dashami)
1 Oct Sun Muharram
2 Oct Mon Mahatma Gandhi’s
19 Oct Thu Diwali
(Festival of Lights)
20 Oct Fri Vikram Samvat New Year Day
21 Oct Sat Bhai Duj / Chitragupth Jayanti
31 Oct Tue Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel’s
4 Nov Sat Guru Nanak Jayanti
2 Dec Sat Milad-un-Nabi
(Prophet’s Birthday)
25 Dec Mon Christmas Day

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *