List of Banks & Business Holidays in Odisha, India in 2017

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2017-odisha-holidaysOdisha with its previous name called Orissa coined by britishers, is an earth’s surface on the East Coast of India. The high rised ancient temples gives another name to odisha is the Soul of India. One can find several wildlife sanctuaries and impressing unique monuments all across the state. In the year 2011, when indian government initiated to change names of cities and towns nomenclatured by the british during their rule odisha took its new name from former name orissa.

Each year the state govt publishes the Public holidays in Odisha in contrast to the Negotiable Instrument Act 1881. Along with other states of india celebrating holidays odish too observes Republic Day, Independence Day and Ghandi Jayanthi. During the public holidays of Good Friday, Holi, Janmasthami and Kalipuja festivals the government offices, schools & companies will be closed.

And for banks in odisha if any of the government holiday falls on sunday, the govt. permits banks to close for the holiday although sundays are working day in india for banks. The government mentions the list of Sunday holidays as an independent list each year to prevent confusion.

1st of April of every calendar year will be a public holiday to note the Annual Closing of Bank Account. With only banks closed other businesses activities may function.

Date Day Holiday
23 Jan Mon Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanati
26 Jan Thu Republic Day
(National Day)
1 Feb Wed Basant Panchami / Sri Panchami
24 Feb Fri Maha Shivaratri
5 Mar Sun Panchayati Raj Divas
12 Mar Sun Doljatra / Holika Dahan
13 Mar Mon Holi
1 Apr Sat Odisha Day / Utkal Dibas
4 Apr Tue Ram Navami
13 Apr Thu Maha Vishuba Sankranti
14 Apr Fri Good Friday
14 Jun Wed Pahaliraja
15 Jun Thu Raja Sankranti
25 Jun Sun Ratha Yatra
26 Jun Mon Ramazan / Idu’l Fitr
(End of Ramadan) *
15 Aug Tue Independence Day
15 Aug Tue Janmashtami / Sri Krishna Jayanti
25 Aug Fri Ganesh Chaturthi /
Vinayaka Chaturthi
26 Aug Sat Nuakhai
2 Sep Sat Bakri Id / Idu’l Zuha
(Feast of Sacrifice)
20 Sep Wed Mahalaya Amavasye
27 Sep Wed Durga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Saptami)
28 Sep Thu Durga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Asthami)
29 Sep Fri Durga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Navami)
30 Sep Sat Durga Puja / Dussehra
(Vijaya Dashami)
1 Oct Sun Muharram
2 Oct Mon Mahatma Gandhi’s
5 Oct Thu Lakshmi Puja
18 Oct Wed Naraka Chaturdashi / Kali Puja
19 Oct Thu Diwali
(Festival of Lights)
3 Nov Fri Karthika Purnima / Rahasa Purnima
2 Dec Sat Milad-un-Nabi
(Prophet’s Birthday)
25 Dec Mon Christmas Day

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *