List of Govt. Holidays of Uttar Pradesh New Calendar Year 2017

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

uttar-pradesh-holidaysUP was formed as the United Provinces in the year 1937 during the British Raj and later was rechristened as Uttar Pradesh in 1950. One of the world heritage and most popular Taj Mahal, a mausoleum constructed honouring Mumtaz Mahal, the spouse of Emperor Shah Jahan, who died during childbirth. The UP state has 80% of hindu population, 19% of muslims, and remaining 1% of Sikhs, Jains, Christians & Buddhists religious groups.

THe Public holidays in Uttar Pradesh approved are based on the religions here by the government. Throughout India the public holidays like Republic Day, Independence Day and the birthday of Mahatma Ghandi are celebrated and utter pradesh is no exception.

Some of the other public holidays in uttar pradesh are for honours of freedom fighters and prophets revered in the state of Uttar Pradesh. Good Friday & X-Mas Day for christians are too celebrated as public holidays for the forthcoming new year 2017.

And for the religion of islam, the birthday of Sufi saint Hazrat Ali, one of the religious dignitary and Prophet Mohammad blessed is celebrated by Muslims in the Chishti community by offering respect to him. People do celebrations by offering prayers and requesting his blessing. Mosques too conduct ceremonies for those who wish to remember his high sacrifice.

Date Day Holiday
26 Jan Thu Republic Day
(National Day)
24 Feb Fri Maha Shivaratri
12 Mar Sun Doljatra / Holika Dahan
13 Mar Mon Holi
4 Apr Tue Ram Navami
9 Apr Sun Mahavir Jayanti
11 Apr Tue Hazrat Alis Birthday
14 Apr Fri Good Friday
14 Apr Fri Dr Ambedkar Jayanti
9 May Tue Lok Nayak Maharana Pratap Jayanti
10 May Wed Buddha Purnima
26 Jun Mon Ramazan / Idu’l Fitr
(End of Ramadan) *
7 Aug Mon Raksha Bandhan
15 Aug Tue Independence Day
15 Aug Tue Janmashtami / Sri Krishna Jayanti
2 Sep Sat Bakri Id / Idu’l Zuha
(Feast of Sacrifice)
29 Sep Fri Durga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Navami)
30 Sep Sat Durga Puja / Dussehra
(Vijaya Dashami)
1 Oct Sun Muharram
2 Oct Mon Mahatma Gandhi’s
19 Oct Thu Diwali
(Festival of Lights)
20 Oct Fri Balipadyami Diwali
21 Oct Sat Bhai Duj / Chitragupth Jayanti
3 Nov Fri Karthika Purnima / Rahasa Purnima
4 Nov Sat Guru Nanak Jayanti
2 Dec Sat Milad-un-Nabi
(Prophet’s Birthday)
25 Dec Mon Christmas Day

2 comments — post a comment


May i get the Uttar Pradesh state restricted holidays list for the year 2017


Need various Banks holidays list in 2017 for the state of Uttar Pradesh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *