Mumbai Holidays & Maharashtra Holidays in 2017 India Calendar

maharasthra-holidays-2017The maharashtra province is not known by its state rather than fame by its capital city Bombay or Later Mumbai. The growing bollywood film industry has its origin here in the state of Maharashtra. The significant monument British Raj-era built Gateway of India and the island of Elephanta cave temple has the presence. Close to 78% follow hindu dharma and 14% opted islam so a mixture of hindus and muslims all round here. Apart from that about 6% are of buddhist.

The General Administration Department of Maharashtra has right to authenticate the approved public holidays 2017 after cooperating with the Government of India. Most holidays declared for this state of maharashtra has their celebration along with all other indian states. The three major holidays and its importance are:

  • Republic Day celebrated here remembers the constitutional date of India coming into force.
  • Independence Day observed commemorates India‚Äôs independence from the British Empire in the year 1947.
  • Gandhi Jayanti or his birth anniversary honored on October 2. He is otherwise known as Father of India, Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi or Mahatma Gandhi or Bapuji.

The cultural and traditional practices followed by the religious citizens celebrate other holidays such as Mabashivratri, Holi, Ram Navmi, Dusshera, Moharram & Diwali.

Date Day Holiday
26 Jan Thu Republic Day
(National Day)
19 Feb Sun Chatrapati Shivaji Maharaj
Jayanti
24 Feb Fri Maha Shivaratri
13 Mar Mon Holi
28 Mar Tue Gudi Padva / Ugadi /
Chetti Chand
4 Apr Tue Ram Navami
(Vaishnava)
9 Apr Sun Mahavir Jayanti
14 Apr Fri Good Friday
14 Apr Fri Dr Ambedkar Jayanti
1 May Mon Maharashtra Day
10 May Wed Buddha Purnima
26 Jun Mon Ramazan / Idu’l Fitr
(End of Ramadan) *
15 Aug Tue Independence Day
17 Aug Thu Parsi New Year
(Shahenshahi)
25 Aug Fri Ganesh Chaturthi /
Vinayaka Chaturthi
2 Sep Sat Bakri Id / Idu’l Zuha
(Feast of Sacrifice)
30 Sep Sat Durga Puja / Dussehra
(Vijaya Dashami)
1 Oct Sun Muharram
2 Oct Mon Mahatma Gandhi’s
Birthday
19 Oct Thu Diwali
(Festival of Lights)
20 Oct Fri Balipadyami Diwali
4 Nov Sat Guru Nanak Jayanti
2 Dec Sat Milad-un-Nabi
(Prophet’s Birthday)
25 Dec Mon Christmas Day

Terms:

  • lotter sanbadh