Rajasthan State Government Holidays for Hindus & Muslims

rajasthan-government-holidaysThe state of Rajasthan gets two important fact with one being India’s largest state and other being the “Land of Kings.” It is positioned on the north western side of India. India’s largest desert Thar is located here. Rajasthan finds the presence of the Indus Valley Civilisation that went ruined later, Dilwara Temples and Mount Abu. The state former name was Rajputana coined by the British when it went merged into India in 1949. The hindu population is 89 percent and the muslim population is 9% who practice Islam. Therefore the Public holidays in Rajasthan are prepared over the celebrations of bot these religions with Christmas also considered a holiday in the state.

The governor of rajasthan is responsible for declaring Public holidays each year to the state of Rajasthan. The employees of Government offices, schools, banks and many businesses gets paid off along with holidays. Rajasthan observes the celebration of Janmashtami / Sri Krishna Jayanti exactly on the 8th day of the Krishna Paksha. Krishna is a Hindu diety. Muslims here celebrate Murharram, the 1st month of the Islamic calendar as well as one among the 4 sacred months in the hijri calendar year for Muslims. All muslim festivals has a chance for change in date during their festival due to the practice of following lunar calendar based on moon sighting.

Rajasthan sincerely, patriotically, and whole-heartedly celebrates Independence Day, Republic Day & Mohandas Karamchand Ghandi’s birthday.

Date Day Holiday
5 Jan Thu Guru Govind Singh Birthday
26 Jan Thu Republic Day
(National Day)
24 Feb Fri Maha Shivaratri
12 Mar Sun Doljatra / Holika Dahan
13 Mar Mon Holi
28 Mar Tue Gudi Padva / Ugadi /
Chetti Chand
4 Apr Tue Ram Navami
(Vaishnava)
9 Apr Sun Mahavir Jayanti
14 Apr Fri Good Friday
14 Apr Fri Dr Ambedkar Jayanti
28 May Sun Maharana Pratap
Jayanti
26 Jun Mon Ramazan / Idu’l Fitr
(End of Ramadan) *
7 Aug Mon Raksha Bandhan
15 Aug Tue Independence Day
15 Aug Tue Janmashtami / Sri Krishna Jayanti
31 Aug Thu Ramdev Jayanti and Teja Dashmi
2 Sep Sat Bakri Id / Idu’l Zuha
(Feast of Sacrifice)
21 Sep Thu Navratra Stapana / Navratri Ghatasthapana
28 Sep Thu Durga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Asthami)
30 Sep Sat Durga Puja / Dussehra
(Vijaya Dashami)
1 Oct Sun Muharram
2 Oct Mon Mahatma Gandhi’s
Birthday
19 Oct Thu Diwali
(Festival of Lights)
20 Oct Fri Govardhan Pooja
21 Oct Sat Bhai Duj / Chitragupth Jayanti
4 Nov Sat Guru Nanak Jayanti
2 Dec Sat Milad-un-Nabi
(Prophet’s Birthday)
25 Dec Mon Christmas Day
25 Dec Mon Guru Govind Singh Birthday

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

avatar
  Subscribe  
Notify of