Telengana Holidays for New Gregorian Calendar Year 2017

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

telengana-state-calendarTelangana is geomapped in south India and its name derived from the Telugu language. THe princely state of hyderabad which is where the language spoken. With Hyderabad going for dissolution over a linguistic reorganisation, Telangana was joined with the ex Andhra State forming Andhra Pradesh. Thereafter there were several movements to part Telangana from Andhra Pradesh. Finally in the year 2009, the Indian government announced stating that a Telangana state would be constituted. And thus in 2014 the official state was formed. The two main religions here are Hinduism and Islam.

The gen. admin dept. of the govt. of Telangana recognizes holidays each year under the count of Section 25 of the NIA 1881. There are 3 national holidays and are Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Ghandi Janam Din are celebrated all along with other indians.

The religious and cultural holidays approved by the government are based on the religion and culture of the natives. Babu Jagjivan Ram or fame as Babuji, who being a freedom fighter and his birth anniversary is observed on May 4 every year is a public holiday. Dr. Bhimrao Ramji Ambedkar, or Babasaheb, who was the main architect of the indian Constitution and his birthday listed as a public holiday in Telangana, celebrated on 14th of April.

Date Day Holiday
1 Jan Sun New Year’s Day
13 Jan Fri Bhogi
14 Jan Sat Makara Sankranti
26 Jan Thu Republic Day
(National Day)
24 Feb Fri Maha Shivaratri
12 Mar Sun Doljatra / Holika Dahan
28 Mar Tue Gudi Padva / Ugadi /
Chetti Chand
4 Apr Tue Ram Navami
5 Apr Wed Babu Jagjivan Ram’s Birthday
14 Apr Fri Good Friday
14 Apr Fri Dr Ambedkar Jayanti
25 Jun Sun Ratha Yatra
26 Jun Mon Ramazan / Idu’l Fitr
(End of Ramadan) *
27 Jun Tue Ramazan 2nd Day
20 Jul Thu Bonalu
15 Aug Tue Independence Day
25 Aug Fri Ganesh Chaturthi /
Vinayaka Chaturthi
2 Sep Sat Bakri Id / Idu’l Zuha
(Feast of Sacrifice)
28 Sep Thu Durga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Asthami)
30 Sep Sat Durga Puja / Dussehra
(Vijaya Dashami)
1 Oct Sun Muharram
2 Oct Mon Mahatma Gandhi’s
19 Oct Thu Diwali
(Festival of Lights)
3 Nov Fri Karthika Purnima / Rahasa Purnima
4 Nov Sat Guru Nanak Jayanti
2 Dec Sat Milad-un-Nabi
(Prophet’s Birthday)
25 Dec Mon Christmas Day

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *