Union Territory Puducherry List of Holidays Appendix I, II, III

puducherry-ut-holidays-2017The french of france ruled Puducherry / Pondicherry Until 1954. Even now there are many residents who are not native of france speak french. There are many retail stores with big inventory of French merchandise. Puducherry is parted between north and south by a canal while the French part stays on eastern side of the sea. The Union Territory of pondicherry was shaped out of 4 French exclaves namely Puducherry, Karaikai, Yanam & Mahe. Right in the year 2006 the name pondicherry was modified to puducherry and the street and territory names were getting started writing in indian languages.

The three different list of Public holidays are set by the Government of Puducherry. The list of puduvai holidays in appendix 1 and 2 where all government offices and banks will be closed. Appendix I Holidays are determined under Section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act 1881. Incase the holiday falls on sunday then those are excluded and included in the sunday holidays list. The festivals like Thiruvalluvar Day, De jure Transfer Day are the important holidays to form part of the public holidays of puducherry. Appendix II is the holiday where Tamil New Year’s Day and Deepavali are added.

The appendix iii holidays is for mainly for Government servants who are admitted to select 2 listed holidays as paid holidays and that comprise Bhogi, Ram Navami and Buddha Purnima.

Date Day Holiday
1 Jan Sun New Year’s Day
14 Jan Sat Pongal
15 Jan Sun Thiruvalluvar Day
26 Jan Thu Republic Day
(National Day)
29 Mar Wed Telugu New Year
14 Apr Fri Good Friday
14 Apr Fri Dr Ambedkar Jayanti
14 Apr Fri Tamil New Year
14 Apr Fri Vishu
15 Apr Sat Vishu 2nd Day
26 Jun Mon Ramazan / Idu’l Fitr
(End of Ramadan) *
15 Aug Tue Independence Day
16 Aug Wed De jure Transfer Day
25 Aug Fri Ganesh Chaturthi /
Vinayaka Chaturthi
2 Sep Sat Bakri Id / Idu’l Zuha
(Feast of Sacrifice)
3 Sep Sun First Onam
4 Sep Mon Thiruvonam
29 Sep Fri Durga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Navami)
2 Oct Mon Mahatma Gandhi’s
Birthday
18 Oct Wed Deepavali
(Festival of Lights)
1 Nov Wed Puducherry Liberation Day
2 Dec Sat Milad-un-Nabi
(Prophet’s Birthday)

Terms:

  • odia calantar
  • playgoldwin eidb