West Bengal Calendar Holidays for Year 2017

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

west-bengal-holidayWest Bengal is lies between the greater Himalayan mountain range and the coastal Bay of Bengal. West Bengal has the vast architectural remains of the East India Company that ruled India. The capital city is Kolkata, previously called as Calcutta. Though religiously diverse, Hinduism is the most followed religion and the public holidays pronounced here are based on the religious and cultural beliefs.

THe Finance Department of WB government applying 25th section of the Negotiable Instrument Act 1881 approves the public holidays. Sundays as well considered as the public holidays and if any holidays falls on a Sunday, then it is not listed as a public holiday. The bank remains closed on annual bank account closing days.

Certain holidays like birthday of the Poet Bhanu Bhakt and Bhatridwitiya where the government offices dont run. Independence Day, Republic Day of India and Father of indian nation are celebrated across the India as national holidays. As like other states there are restricted holidays for which the Government employees get paid along with holidays. The festivals included are Easter Sunday, Baisakhi or Sab-e-Barat. Muslim holidays are tend to change at the last moment because of their practice in following the lunar calendar or hijri calendar or islamic calendar since the birth of propher muhammad peace be upon him.

12 JanThuBirthday of Swami Vivekananda
23 JanMonNetaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanati
26 JanThuRepublic Day
(National Day)
1 FebWedBasant Panchami / Sri Panchami
12 MarSunDoljatra / Holika Dahan
14 AprFriGood Friday
14 AprFriDr Ambedkar Jayanti
14 AprFriBengali New Year’s Day
1 MayMonMay Day
8 MayMonGuru Rabindranath’s Birthday
26 JunMonRamazan / Idu’l Fitr
(End of Ramadan) *
15 AugTueIndependence Day
2 SepSatBakri Id / Idu’l Zuha
(Feast of Sacrifice)
27 SepWedDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Saptami)
28 SepThuDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Asthami)
29 SepFriDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Navami)
30 SepSatDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Vijaya Dashami)
1 OctSunMuharram
2 OctMonMahatma Gandhi’s
5 OctThuLakshmi Puja
18 OctWedNaraka Chaturdashi / Kali Puja
4 NovSatGuru Nanak Jayanti
25 DecMonChristmas Day

2 comments — post a comment


Need the West Bengal state restricted holidays for the year 2017


May i get the Canara Bank holidays for the year 2017 in the state of West Bengal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *